Food waste categories

Eco Food Recycling and their disposal sites that they use for recycling are able to collect and accept all Category 3 food waste.

The Environment Agency specify certain categories for all food waste as follows and they need to be treated in different forms and under different regulations.

Category 1

Very high risk material includes:

  • animals and materials suspected or confirmed to be infected by TSEs (transmissible spongiform encephalopathies) such as scrapie in sheep or BSE in cattle
  • animals that have been experimented on
  • zoo and pet animal carcasses
  • catering waste from international transport, ie aircraft and ships
  • specified risk material (SRM) (eg tissues from cattle, sheep or goats that are, or may be, infected with BSE).

Category 2

High risk material includes:

  • diseased animals (this excludes animals infected by TSEs)
  • manure or animal by-products that could be contaminated with animal diseases
  • animals kept for human consumption, which die by means other than slaughtering
  • animals that die on farms that do not contain SRM.

Category 3

Low risk material, which is fit, but not intended, for human consumption. This includes:

  • raw meat and fish from food manufacturers and retailers
  • former foodstuffs other than catering waste, this includes manufacturing or packaging defects
  • eggs and other by-products that do not show signs of transmissible disease
  • raw milk
  • fish and other sea animals
  • shells.